Facing your Fears: Making the Big Move

If you are wondering if it will be worth it, it will.
If you question if you can do it, you can.

At my lowest point, I told myself making it to my goal and living out my dream would be great, but it wouldn’t be worth the pain in that moment.
I was wrong.

All the pain, all the doubts, all the worry that haunted me, day in and day out, vanished with the call that I had gotten a job. The next time I drove down the road and turned to see the Austin skyline paint itself across the sky, I thought: “I live here. This is my life.”
And just like that, a year worth of desire was satisfied.

Austin, Texas. Looking down South Congress.

Photo credit: Instagram @AustinPassbook

A friend recently told me how unhappy she’s become in her job and city. I’ve learned from experience, when you are in that position, everyone tells you to “wait it out.” But that doesn’t always work. Everyone tells you “it will be worth the pain,” but that doesn’t numb it.

Time doesn’t fix everything. Change can fix things too. You have to put yourself out there. Take the chance. Make the change. Flipping your life upside down may be exactly what you need to find happiness.

At church this morning, I was reminded that happiness is the greatest pleasure we experience, in Heaven. But just as often as we experience suffering on Earth, we can also experience happiness. God didn’t make us in His image to be unhappy during every moment of our Earthly lives.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are they who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the land.
Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the clean of heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you
and utter every kind of evil against you falsely because of me.
Rejoice and be glad,
for your reward will be great in heaven.”
Matthew 5:1-12

If you know what you want, but are scared if taking the chance will work out in your favor: Do it. If it truly is your dream to live somewhere else, or work in a different field, or date someone new – it will work out. We have a way of putting in a little extra effort toward the life we want to live.

So go out. Live your life.

Austin, Texas. Capitol

Photo credit: Instagram @EmilyPellegrini

Leave a Reply

