Mid-year Resolution Check-in

Just before school started, I evaluated my mid-year resolutions. How did I do?

Let’s see…

Make connections

I think I’ve done a decent job with this. I finished up my summer internship with Indianapolis Monthly magazine, and I’ve met numerous great people, a handful of great “mentors,” and a few more helpful and polite sources/interview subjects. I’ve also begun my Fulbright Scholarship application (!!) adding my school’s Fulbright Program Adviser to my list of networks.

Read a book a month

I was pretty excited about this one at the beginning of the summer and took off running. I’ve slowed down considerably, (have since been failing) but still managed one book each month during the summer, finishing my seventh book of the year as we turned the page from July to August. I’m proud of this goal I set, and my determination to get back on track is high.
Here is a breakdown of what I’ve read so far:

January – The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down        May– Into the Wild

February – A Walk in the Woods                                          June – Nights in Rodanthe

March – The Curve of Binding Energy                                  July – The Five Love Languages

April – Persepolis

Write everyday

I make this a goal of mine every time I make a list of goals. It’s always something I feel I can improve on. While I do not always get to write a blog post or write in my journal on a daily basis, I do still write papers, blog posts at work, journal entries for school, etc. each day, so…I’ll call it even. Still lots of room for improvement.

Create and stick-to a realistic budget

Unfortunately, I have not worked on this one as much as I would have liked. I did look through some money planning and budgeting books in the beginning of the summer, and I hope to look through a few more during the school year. By the start of 2014, I hope to set a budget for my post-grad self.

One thought on “Mid-year Resolution Check-in

Leave a Reply

