Unusual Sources: The Power of Pinterest

I’ve written about the changing world of journalism before, as all of my classes discuss and teach toward the change on a daily basis.
One of my current professors talked out the professional use of Pinterest. I have a Pinterest account, but use it much more for recreational use. He introduced the idea of collecting story ideas from popularly pinned sites.

Not long after this recollection, I stumbled across a Southern Living article on activities to do in Texas. I loved it and instantly thought of its professional possibility. While I do not currently live in the Hill Country of Texas, the use of this article is immediately apparent to me.
As a journalism student interested in a city’s culture and entertainment, I would love to write article like the Southern Living article, featuring great aspects of my city.
I also loved this article because it featured activities I could easily do on a long weekend. Pinterest is great for weekend fun, whether it be a craft, a recipe or a trip.

I encourage you to find what makes your area special, by looking in some unusual places. You never know what you may find!

Leave a Reply

